How Many Continents Are There In The World?

There are 7 continents on the planet earth. The 7 continents of the world are North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, and Australia. Africa is the world’s largest continent.

According to the latest research, the human population first appeared in Africa and then traveled to other continents as many weren’t yet divided by shifting continental plates.

Table of Contents


Africa is the second-largest continent in the world. It has a surface of 30.3 sq. km. and it covers over 20% of the world’s surface. Africa is now home to 54 countries. It is also the home of the world’s largest desert, the Sahara.

North America

North America represents 16.5% of the total landmass of the world. It now has 23 countries and it represents the ‘New World’ with explorers discovering this continent on their way to India. The largest city in North America is Mexico City.

South America

South America has a surface of over 24 million square kilometers or 6.8 million square miles. The continent is home to 12 countries. It’s often considered as the ‘Earth’s Lungs’ as it hosts the largest forest in the world, the Amazon. South America is also the gateway continent for those traveling to Antarctica.


Europe is called ‘The Old Continent’. It is home to 51 countries and it is responsible for many discoveries and explorations, including the discovery of other continents. It is home to the largest economical union in the world, the European Union. Europe is tied to Asia by landmass and separated by African by the Mediterranean Sea. It’s bordered by the Atlantic Ocean in the West and by the Arctic Ocean in the North. Europe is considered one of the best continents for international travel. Cars, trains, and even walking are considered when crossing from one country to another.


Asia covers a surface of 44.5 million square miles. This represents 29.5% of the entire landmass of the planet. Asia is home to 50 countries. At its most Western point, it borders Europe through Turkey and Russia. In the far East, it is bordered by the Pacific Ocean where you find North and South Korea. The Indian Ocean borders the Southern part of the continent together with the China Sea, the world’s busiest.


Australia is an independent continent and the world’s largest island at the same time. It stands between the Indian Ocean and the Pacific Ocean and it incorporates the state of Australia, New Zealand, and the surrounding countries. Australia is often considered the most remote inhabited continent on Earth. Australians mostly have to fly out to any neighboring country.


Antarctica is the world’s southern continent. With a surface of over 14 million square miles, it remains the largest unpopulated territory in the world. Its cold climate only allows a few weather stations to be located here. Occasionally, extreme expeditions and physical contents are held here. Otherwise, the continent is unpopulated and it’s mostly home to specific animals such as the Southern Penguin that are accustomed to very low temperature and high Antarctic winds.